Expectations

4 Aug

By Julia Jones

The last few weeks I have often found myself imagining the situations our group will be in. I’ve imagined walking into mud huts and meeting families whose stories will blow my mind. I’ve imagined seeing the tears in my friend’s eyes as we see children living out in the streets. I see in my mind the joyful smiles that mothers will give us as we leave the CSP project (Child Survival Program). I’ve imagined a cozy air-conditioned room with hot water and no bugs, I’ve thought about beautiful weather with children playing out in the sun. And I’ve even thought of lessons that God might teach me through this trip.

I’ve imagined and created all of these wonderful stories and situations that we could be in. But no matter how much I would like it to, this trip will NOT follow my expectations.

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. (Jeremiah 29:11)

God’s plan is SO much greater than my expectations. In reality all of my expectations could be completely let down. And if I maintain these expectations, this trip could be lost to me. If I only look for my expectations to be fulfilled, I could miss the truly amazing things that God has planned for me on this trip. Especially if I expect God to teach me specific lessons.

We will be staying in a large room with bunk beds and mosquito nets, it will not be air-conditioned, and there will be no hot water. There are lots of bugs. The weather report says scattered thunderstorms everyday, with low 90’s and 100% humidity. And if you haven’t been looking up the weather for the Caribbean area, there is a tropical storm blowing right through Haiti and parts of the Dominican Republic. Already most of my expectations have been dashed upon a rock, and we haven’t even left yet. But I need to remind myself that this is God’s plan. With no doubt, this trip will be exactly what God wants it to be. Please be praying that God’s will be done on this trip, pray that we will learn the lessons God has for us, and we will grow spiritually, and pray for the islands that are being hit by tropical storm Emily.

One Response to “Expectations”

  1. Rachael August 4, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    Praying! So excited for all of you. Have an incredible time. Blessings!!!

Leave a comment